Saturday, September 03, 2005

Roster Moves & Other Stuff

With just four games remaining in the season, the Harrisburg Senators announced a few more roster changes today. The Senators will be sending outfielders Dee Haynes and Cristian Guerrero to triple-A New Orleans. The Senators will get two players from Savannah, infielder Brad Ditter and outfielder Doug Vroman. --------------------------------------------- Senators’ star third baseman Ryan Zimmerman was named the Senators’ Most Valuable Player for the 2005 season. Zimmerman, who was promoted to the major leagues earlier in the day, was not on hand to accept his award. Members of the Senators’ team voted on the MVP award, which was announced prior to the Senators’ final home game Thursday. Other award winners were: 2005 Most Competitive Player: Dan Dement 2005 Fan’s Favorite: Melvin Dorta 2005 Carl J. Dordaro Leadership Award: Darrell Rasner 2005 Mort Rosen Community Service Award: Justin Echols Justin Echols - "Community Service" The post-season awards were made possible through the Capital Area Chapter of the PA Sports Hall of Fame. The Senators players voted on the Most Competitive Award while fan balloting over the last two home stands provided the winner for the Fan’s Favorite honor.

No comments: